The execution of innocent teenager George Stinney

George Junius Stinney Jr. (October 21, 1929 - June 16, 1944)

George Junius Stinney Jr. (October 21, 1929 - June 16, 1944) was a young African American who, in a flawed trial, was sentenced to 14 years for murder in 1944 in his hometown of Alcolu, Carolina. South. He was the youngest person in the United States in the 20th century to be sentenced to death and executed. [1]

Stinney was convicted in 1944 in a one-day trial [2] for the first degree murder of two white girls: Betty June Binnicker, 11, and Mary Emma Thames, 8. After being arrested, Stinney reportedly confessed to the crime. [3] [4] There was no written account of his confession other than notes provided by a deputy investigator [5], and no transcript of the brief trial. He was executed in an electric chair.

Since Stinney's conviction and execution, the issue of his guilt, the validity of his reported confession, and the legal process leading to his execution have been widely criticized. [6]

A group of lawyers and activists investigated the Stinney case on behalf of his family. In 2013, the family requested a new trial. On December 17, 2014, his conviction was posthumously overturned 70 years after his execution, because the circuit court judge ruled that he had not received a fair trial; he had no effective defense and his Sixth Amendment rights had been violated. [7] [8] The judgment noted that while Stinney may in fact have committed the crime, the prosecution and the trial were fundamentally flawed.

This site may contain copyrighted material the use of which has not always been specifically authorized by the copyright holder. We make this material available in an effort to advance understanding of environmental, political, human rights, economic, democratic, scientific and social justice issues, etc. in Section 107 of the US Copyright Law.

Pursuant to Title 17 USC Section 107, the material on this site is distributed without profit to those who have expressed a prior interest in receiving the included information for research and educational purposes. For more information, visit: http: //www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17 / ...

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes that go beyond "fair use", you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.

Source: For The People SC

Links

The Project

Death Row

Contact us

CONTACT


               fcadp.info@gmail.com


     +33 750 031 208

Follow us to stay informed

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn Social Icône
  • YouTube
  • Instagram

Subscribe for Updates

FCADP is a non-profit association declared to the Aude prefecture (11) - France under the number:

n ° W113007888

HEADQUARTERS

6 Rue de la Republique

11510 Treilles

FRANCE

© 2020 By FCADP French Coaltion Against the Death Penalty

L’exécution de l'adolescent innocent George Stinney

George Junius Stinney Jr. (21 octobre 1929 - 16 juin 1944)

George Junius Stinney Jr. (21 octobre 1929 - 16 juin 1944) était un jeune afro-américain qui, lors d'un procès vicié, a été condamné à 14 ans pour meurtre en 1944 dans sa ville natale d'Alcolu, en Caroline du Sud. Il était la plus jeune personne aux États-Unis au 20e siècle à être condamnée à mort et à être exécutée. [1]

 

Stinney a été condamné en 1944 dans un procès d'un jour [2] du meurtre au premier degré de deux filles blanches: Betty June Binnicker, 11 ans, et Mary Emma Thames, 8 ans. Après avoir été arrêté, Stinney aurait avoué le crime. [3] [4] Il n'y avait aucun compte rendu écrit de ses aveux en dehors des notes fournies par un enquêteur adjoint [5], et aucune transcription du bref procès. Il a été exécuté sur une chaise électrique.

Depuis la condamnation et l'exécution de Stinney, la question de sa culpabilité, la validité de ses aveux rapportés et le processus judiciaire menant à son exécution ont été largement critiqués. [6]

Un groupe d'avocats et de militants a enquêté sur l'affaire Stinney au nom de sa famille. En 2013, la famille a demandé un nouveau procès. Le 17 décembre 2014, sa condamnation a été annulée à titre posthume 70 ans après son exécution, car le juge de la cour de circuit a statué qu'il n'avait pas bénéficié d'un procès équitable; il n'avait aucune défense efficace et ses droits du sixième amendement avaient été violés. [7] [8] Le jugement a noté que si Stinney peut en fait avoir commis le crime, la poursuite et le procès étaient fondamentalement viciés.

Ce site peut contenir du matériel protégé par le droit d'auteur dont l'utilisation n'a pas toujours été spécifiquement autorisée par le titulaire du droit d'auteur. Nous rendons ce matériel disponible dans un effort pour faire progresser la compréhension des questions environnementales, politiques, de droits de l'homme, économiques, démocratiques, scientifiques et de justice sociale, etc. dans l'article 107 de la loi américaine sur le droit d'auteur.

Conformément au Titre 17 U.S.C. Section 107, le matériel sur ce site est distribué sans profit à ceux qui ont exprimé un intérêt préalable à recevoir les informations incluses à des fins de recherche et d'éducation. Pour plus d'informations, rendez-vous sur: http: //www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17 / ...

Si vous souhaitez utiliser du matériel protégé par le droit d'auteur de ce site à des fins qui vont au-delà de «l'utilisation équitable», vous devez obtenir la permission du propriétaire des droits d'auteur.

Source: For The People SC

Liens utiles

Le projet

Couloir de la mort

Nous contacter

CONTACT


               fcadp.info@gmail.com


     +33 767 632 646

Suivez-nous pour rester informé(e)

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn Social Icône
  • YouTube
  • Instagram

FCADP c'est une association a but non lucratif déclarée à la préfecture de l'Aude (11) - France sous le numéro: n ° W113007888

SIÈGE

6 Rue de la Republique

11510 Treilles

FRANCE

© 2020 By FCADP French Coaltion Against the Death Penalty